Search
  • Rachel Mikaela

Who is Rachel Mikaela?

Curious as to what I'm like? Where I'm from? Who I really am?


My last name isn't Mikaela. It's Boy. My full name is Rachel Mikaela Boy. Yes, Boy. I couldn't tell you how many times people think they misheard me and think it's Boyd. No. It's Boy. As simple as it sounds. As for my middle name? The "Mi" was taken from my mom's name Michele. The "Kae" is my grandmother's middle name. The end "A" was taken from my other grandmother's name, Rita. The "L" was just put in there for the name to actually make sense. Lastly, for those of you that are die hard Friends fans? My parents named me after Rachel Green. :)


My stomping grounds.

I was born on November 1, 1995 in Sioux Falls, SD. That makes me 23 years old, for those of you that are bad at math and still count with your fingers(or is that just me). My hometown is Humboldt, SD. My family lived there until I was about 3. We then moved to Brandon, SD because my dad needed to be closer to work. I honestly consider Brandon to be my hometown more than anything, because it's where I spent my entire childhood. My brother and I spent all of our school years there and made some lifelong friends that we are still blessed with to this day.

But, the summer before my senior year started, we moved back out to Hartford, SD. My parents bought my grandparent's acreage and I got to travel back and forth for my last year of high school. My parents are currently still living there, while my brother is in Brandon and I am in Sioux Falls.


My fam bam.

You're probably wondering who brought me into this world. Well, I have a wonderful mother named Michele. I call her Ma. My father's name is Joel. I call him Dad. These two love birds are high school sweethearts that met in study hall. But before I came, there was Joey. My brother. He's 3 years older than me and is actually named after my dad. But we just call him Joey. I am blessed with an absolutely amazing family that is so supportive and caring. Lucky is an understatement.


My small biz.

I was maybe 8 years old when I started to love photography. It started out with me making "picture books". I would grab some plain printing paper and tape(or glue) any photos I could find in the house onto the pages, front and back. I then would staple the pages together, and boom. There ya have it. Picture book. I probably ruined a lot of our family's photos, but my mom still has all of my books to this day. I eventually got my own point and shoot film camera. I used that thing CONSTANTLY. Once I was bored with that I started to use my mom's digital camera. Then came my own digital camera.. and then my first DSLR. You get the point. But in between all of those cameras were also a few video cameras. I would videotape my stuffed animals, our pets, my friends.. really anything. I've just always been fascinated by both photo and video. So, I decided to go to college for photography in Sioux City, IA at Western Iowa Tech Community College. I graduated in December of 2016. After college, I moved back home. I got a full time job making and putting together college table banners and high school championship banners. I worked for a little over a year and decided it was time to jump. I went full-time with my photography business(YEAH. Scary right?) in May of 2018 and I've never been happier. It's been a crazy ride and I've only been doing it for 7 months. I am SO excited for 2019. I believe it's going to be my best year yet.



I believe the worst sound in the world is someone scratching on carpet.

You're probably wondering who I really am. Those weird/random facts that nobody thinks about sharing. Well... I used to be an early bird until I turned into my own boss. Now I let myself sleep in and I'm starting to think I need to give myself a talking to. I love coffee, as long as there's like 1/3 of Coldstone's Sweet Cream creamer and 2/3 coffee in my mug. I hate the cold. I like snow for the holidays but I can't stand to be outside in it. I have 4 tattoos, all with meaning. My horoscope sign, a remembrance to all of those I've lost, my mom and dad's anniversary date, and f-stops(it's a photography thing).

I can't stand the sound of someone scratching on carpet. I'm getting the icky goosebumps just thinking about it. I can't swim. My mom took me to swimming lessons when I was little and I screamed so much that she gave up and stopped taking me. Whoops.

I do not have a single piercing on my body. Never have, never will. I just don't get the point of it. I had braces and glasses at the same time. Talk about pretty ;) I have a special place in my heart for elephants. My grandpa used to collect them and since he passed I can't stop myself from buying them when I see them. I am right handed but cut my steak with my left. I have a boyfriend, Ryan, of about 5 years(we've been on and off in the past so that's a rough estimate) that I am currently living with. He's my best friend and my better half. He challenges me to be a better version of myself and I just love him so freaking much.

I am a HUGE animal person. But, dogs specifically. Goldens are my fav. Below is Kevin. My soon-to-be son.


And that about wraps up where I came from, what I do, and who I am. If you made it this far, thank you. Thank you for wasting some of your time to take a peek into my life.


Happy Monday :) It's a good week to have a good week.


Lots of love,

Rach.

179 views
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

© 2017 by RACHEL BOY. Proudly created with Wix.com